Final Cut Pro X and 5.1 sound from AVCHD – Part 2

Some time ago I wrote a post about 5.1 surround sound. The problem was that FCP X does not import 5.1 surround sound but only stereo. The solution was to use Voltaic to extract the 5.1 sound during conversion.

This solution had only one big disadvantage in practice. You need to convert all your movies to get the 5.1 surround sound. But this is something you already did with FCP X! So what if you use the converted movies from Voltaic instead? Unfortunately the quality seems less and sometimes I see artifacts. 

Now I found a new piece of software I tried: iMedia Converter! This piece of software can convert all kinds of movies, but only the audio as well! The output can be different types of audio. So you won’t need compressor, although I convert it to another format and use compressor anyway. Compressor takes only one minute.

The cool part is that I’m able to select my AVCHD and convert the audio. For some hours of film Voltaic took an entire night to complete, iMedia Converter only takes a couple of minutes. Logical since we only convert the audio, but very handy since I was throwing away the converted movies anyway.

~ door Marc Blok op juli 2, 2012.

Plaats een reactie